Saturday, August 28, 2010

GSEA Presents: Back To School Reading

Denton peeps: Tonight, fiction, poetry, and nonfiction by new grad students Chelsea Woodard, Nathan Logan, Tim Boswell, Jessica Hindman, Jaclyn Thies, and Zach VandeZande. 7 pm @Jupiter House Europa (503 West University Drive, corner of University and Carroll)

20th Annual Jeffrey E. Smith Editor's Prize Competition.

Wake up blog! The editors of The Missouri Review asked me to pass along information regarding their 20th Annual Jeffrey E. Smith Editor's Prize Competition. Here's their pitch:

"We offer $5,000 each, plus a featured publication, to winners in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Finalists also receive cash prizes and have their work considered for publication. The contest's postmark deadline is October 1, 2010, and winners will be announced in early 2011. The $20 submission fee includes a year's subscription to the journal. Submissions can be sent to our mailing address or entered online.

For complete guidelines, visit our website."